Daily Prayers

These eight hours are known by the following names:
• Vigils/Matins (during the night), sometimes referred to as Nocturns, or in monastic usage the Night Office; in the Breviary of Paul VI it has been replaced by the Office of Readings midnight
• Lauds or Dawn Prayer (at Dawn) – 3am
• Prime or Early Morning Prayer (First Hour = 6 a.m.)
• Terce or Mid-Morning Prayer (Third Hour = 9 a.m.)
• Sext or Midday Prayer (Sixth Hour = 12 noon)
• None or Mid-Afternoon Prayer (Ninth Hour = 3 p.m.)
• Vespers or Evening Prayer ("at the lighting of the lamps") 6pm
• Compline or Night Prayer (before retiring) 9 pm
Saint Benedict of Nursia (c. 480 – 543) is credited with having given this organization to the Liturgy of the Hours. However, his scheme was taken from that described by John Cassian, in his two major spiritual works, the Institutes and the Conferences, in which he described the monastic practices of the Desert Fathers of Egypt. Taylor Marshall has demonstrated how these Christian cycles of daily prayer derived from Jewish customs of prayer.[4]
Liturgy of the Hours of Paul VI

After the Second Vatican Council, Pope Paul VI promulgated a new Roman Breviary, commonly referred to as "Liturgy of the Hours". In this Breviary, the structure of the offices, the distribution of psalms and the prayers themselves were heavily modified. Prime was suppressed entirely and Matins was replaced by the new Office of Readings.
Its usage focuses on three major hours and from two to four minor hours:
• The Officium lectionis or Office of Readings (formerly Matins/Vigils), major hour
• Lauds or Morning prayer, major hour
• Daytime prayer, which can be one or all of:
o Terce or Mid-Morning Prayer
o Sext or Midday Prayer
o None or Mid-Afternoon Prayer
• Vespers or Evening Prayer, major hour
• Compline or Night Prayer


Popular posts from this blog


Saint Joanna